A Look Inside BRING HER HOME



A discussion about the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women epidemic in anticipation of the broadcast of BRING HER HOME presented by Twin Cities PBS (TPT) on Tuesday, March 15, 2022 at 3:00pm AKT/4:00pm PT/5:00pm MT/6:00pm CT/7:00pm ET.


Register Here: A Look Inside BRING HER HOME: A Virtual Panel Discussion Tickets, Tue, Mar 15, 2022 at 6:00 PM | Eventbrite


About the Event

The United States is facing a human rights crisis known as the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women epidemic. Out of the 5,712 Missing & Murdered Indigenous Women counted in 2016, only 116 were logged in a Department of Justice database.

Join us for a virtual discussion about this epidemic in anticipation of the national PBS broadcast of BRING HER HOME - a new feature documentary directed by Leya Hale (Dakota/Diné) and produced by Sergio Rapu (Rapanui).

BRING HER HOME follows three Indigenous women — an artist, an activist and a politician — as they work to vindicate and honor their relatives who are victims in the growing epidemic of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women. As they face the lasting effects of historical trauma, each woman searches for healing while navigating the oppressive systems that brought about this very crisis. A private link to the film will be made available to attendees prior to the event.


Watch Trailer

BRING HER HOME - Trailer 2 min on Vimeo


Panelists

This event will bring together participants in the film to talk about ways in which they are addressing the epidemic from their vantage point. Panelists will include Angela Two Stars, Mysti Babineau, and Representative Ruth Buffalo (ND), accompanied by Senator Mary Kunesh (MN).

The panel will be moderated by Marisa Miakonda Cummings, President and CEO of the Minnesota Indian Women's Resource Center.


Event Sponsors

Vision Maker Media (VMM) the premier source of public media by and about Native Americans since 1976. Their mission is empowering and engaging Native people to share stories. The Center for Great Plains Studies as part of its year-long series on Reckoning and Reconciliation on the Great Plains. Minnesota Indian Women’s Resource Center (MIWRC) Empowering American Indian Women & Families While Advocating for Justice & Equity. TPT’s Almanac


Original Production Funding Provided by:   Minnesota State Legislature - Minnesota Legacy Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund  HRK Foundation Sundance Institute Indigenous Program’s Merata Mita Fellowship Bewilder Films  Women’s Foundation of Minnesota  BRING HER HOME is a co-production of Twin Cities PBS and Vision Maker Media, with funding provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB). 





Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags