Talking Circle Series


Exploring the Intersections between Human Trafficking and

Missing or Murdered Indigenous People


Thursday, September 8, 2022

12:00 p.m. to 1:15 p.m. Pacific Time | 1:00 p.m. to 2:15 p.m. Mountain Time

2:00 p.m. to 3:15 p.m. Central Time | 3:00 to 4:15 p.m. Eastern Time


Register for a live, no cost Talking Circle webinar on Thursday, September 8. Human trafficking harms the body and spirit. Learn about the connection between human trafficking and Missing or Murdered Indigenous People (MMIP). Both human trafficking and MMIP victims may have been exposed to domestic and sexual violence, adverse childhood experiences, substance use, poverty, and homelessness. While human trafficking can happen to anyone anywhere, traffickers often exploit these vulnerabilities. Join American Indian and Alaska Native panelists as they offer insight and answer participant questions on the possible intersection between MMIP and human trafficking, provide resources for addressing the MMIP crisis, and share actionable steps for involving the community.

Moderated by Lenny Hayes (Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate), Founder of Tate Topa Consulting, the panel will feature insight from—

  • Carolyn DeFord, (Puyallup Tribe of Indians), MMIWG Advocate, and Trafficking Project Coordinator, Puyallup Tribe of Indians

  • Lynnette Grey Bull, (Hunkpapa Lakota of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe and Northern Arapaho from the Wind River Indian Reservation), Founder/Director of Not Our Native Daughters

  • Nicole Matthews, (White Earth Band of Ojibwe), Executive Director, Minnesota Indian Women’s Sexual Assault Coalition

This no-cost webinar is hosted by the Office for Victims of Crime, Human Trafficking Capacity Building Center.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags