Free Webinar: Addressing Sex Trafficking in Tribal Communities - Tuesday, September 29, 2020


Addressing Sex Trafficking in Tribal Communities


Tuesday, September 29, 2020 12:30 pm PT | 1:30 pm MT | 2:30 pm CT | 3:30 pm ET

(90 minutes)

Adults and children in tribal communities are especially vulnerable of becoming victims of sex trafficking. Such trafficking is a widespread issue and tribal judges are in a unique position to help identify victims and assist in addressing impacted families. This webinar will focus on: describing and discussing the ways predators groom vulnerable women and men, talking about the connection between foster care/children in care and trafficking, recounting personal stories of trafficking, providing insights into recognizing survivors when they come home, and practical skills for providing trauma-informed responses that create safe environments for survivors and their families to heal.


Register Here: https://www.ncjfcj.org/events/addressing-sex-trafficking-in-tribal-communities/


Panelists: Hon. John Romero, Jr., Judge, Children’s Court Division of the Second Judicial District Court of New Mexico and Program for the Empowerment of Girls. Past President of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges. Hon. Richard Blake, Judge, Hoopa Valley Tribal Court and Executive Committee. President, National American Indian Court Judges Association.

If you have questions regarding this webinar, please contact Elisha Harris, at eharris@ncjfcj.org.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
DISCLAIMER

This website was initially funded and developed as part of  Grant No. 2013-TA-AX-K025 from the U.S. Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women. Neither the U.S. Department of Justice or any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse, this website (including, without limitations, its content, technical infrastructure, policies, and any services or tools provided.) Please Note: The grant period for this project ended in September, 2016.

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus

Safety Alert:

If you are in danger, please call 911, use a safer computer, or call the National Human Trafficking Resource Center Hotline at 1-888-373-7888 or text "BeFree"(233733). Learn more technology safety tips. There is always a computer trail, but you can leave this site quickly.